Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need Speed

Hello out there,
    I've been a machinist for about 5 years so I'm still a little green! My first 3 or 4 years I worked in a factory doing machine work so time wasn't a factor most of the time now I'm working in a job type machine shop and they want 2 hours work in 30 minutes does anyone have any tricks to speed up my operations ?

Haste is not speed. Getting "faster" takes time and experience.

My first job as a machinist, I did setup of machining centers. The boss who has been doing it for thirty years, was only an hour or two faster than me.

Unless you're really dragging you're ass, a two hour job is a two hour job. I've worked for people who expect everything done yesterday. My advice? Tell your boss that you work as fast as you can, if he doesn't like it, go hire somebody else! Some bosses are born ballbreakers and you just have to stand up for yourself.

HTRN

------------------
    This Old Shed
    EGO partum , proinde EGO sum

Comment

This is true as what you said about your boss being able to do it faster and some bosses being ballbrekers my boss has both qualities. But like all the other older machinists that I have worked with they would rather kill you than share valuable secrets they have learned through the years

Comment

Mebbe this http://www.lautard.com/MSTSbook.html would help.....

----------
        Try to make a living, not a killing. -- Utah Phillips
        Don't believe everything you know. -- Bumper sticker
        Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects. -- Will Rogers
        There are lots of people who mistake their imagination for their memory. - Josh Billings
        Law of Logical Argument - Anything is possible if you don't know what you are talking about.
        Don't own anything you have to feed or paint. - Hood River Blackie

Comment

First you get good then you get fast.

Comment

What do you call good ?

Comment