wood reamer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• wood reamer

Well I'm back to playing with my musical instrument hobby. I'm working on making some piccolo head joints which are made from African Black wood, and other exotic woods. Very hard dense woood! I've been boring the headjoints out in my lathe, with good success but it is slow. I would like to make a reamer (which I have never done before)that will finish the bore very smoothly. The bore is approximately .430" in diameter for 4" then it steps up to about .470" for 1/2" an inch. The wood blanks I start with vary, but are approximately 5/8" in diameter and 6" long.The bore is a through hole by the way. They easily fit in my lathe. I've looked for production reamers that are .430", but nothing is stock, and the adjustable reamers jump that size in the enco catalog. I would like to be able to chuck up the blank, rough bore it to size, then ream the finished bore. How do I make a reamer for this? I am equipped at home with a mill and lathe, but no surface grinder. Any solution would have to entail making the parts on these machines. (no buying new equipment for playing)
    Thanks!
    Matt

Check the MSC catalog www.mscdirect.com for decimal-size reamers. I think they have -- or can get for you -- pretty much any decimal size you want.

I think spiral flutes would be the way to go for wood, since you have grain to contend with.

You could try making a reamer, although hardening/tempering at home something the size the reamer would be would be very difficult if not impossible without a heat-treating furnace.