make a plasma machine-torch?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• make a plasma machine-torch?

greets all.. work is progressing on the CNC plasma table.

I'm surprised to see how much machine torches cost!

I have no experience with a machine torch.. but am quite familiar with a manual plasma torch.

anyone know how hard it might be to make a machine torch? or can tell me anything about them?

-tony

Plasma machine torches cost $500.
    Doesnt seem like a fortune to me, but I have only bought two, and the first one still works- it just doesnt work with my current power supply. Life span for them seems pretty indefinite. I have thousands of hours of use on my current one.

Certainly not impossible to make one- they are vertical in format, instead of a right angle like a hand torch. Obviously you want to use the guts from a hand torch that you can get consumables for. Then make your own cylinder to mount them in, with a rack screwed on the side for up and down adjustment.
    Mine have both been made from a heat resistant plastic- some kind of fancy fiberglas, I think. Cast, then machined.
    You should be able to download a schematic free from one of the big suppliers- I think hypertherm and plasma dynamics make the best torches, so I would copy them- just go to their websites, and find the manuals for machine torches. Worst case, email them and have them email you the manual and schematic.

Comment

Ries,
      thanks for the tip. in these neck of the woods, though, any machine torch i could get consumables for (at a reasonable price) is about 900euros (~$1200).

checked the Hypertherm site and all i find is breakdown for marchine torch consumables.

makes me wonder, since i'd be using the same inverter-plasma cutter (1/2" capacity), you think a machine torch would even be worth it?
      -- i could water cool it, but i'm wondering if that would change the duty cycle any, in the box.

-tony

Comment