Tooling question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tooling question

I did a search, but really didnt find what I am looking for.

Long time ago, years before I had a lathe, I purchased a box of tooling. $5 bucks.

In it is a bunch of Mo-Max tooling. Cobalt and HSS.

I understand that cobalt is harder than HSS.

Is its use different that HSS? same speed and feeds?

And what does Carbide look like as tooling?

.......Hopefully I don't embarrass myself answering a couple of these, but the addition of cobalt I believe is basic to allowing the bit to withstand higher heat in use.

Cobalt should be able to withstand higher feeds-speeds due to it's higher heat handeling properties.

"And what does Carbide look like as tooling?"

The bare uncoated carbide tooling I've aquired has all had a slight bluish/grayish cast to it. It is also notably heavier.

I'm also fairly new to this lathe and machining stuff. Lots of my lathe tools came from Da Bey in 'lots'. I have lots of Rex Crucible, Circle C, and Mo-Max in various types (cobalt, M42, etc).

I bought some import bits from ENCO to fill out an order and they came etched only, 3/8x3/8, India, HSS. I was using one to cut some steel and it cratered and pocketed so bad by the 3rd workpiece it looked like I was threading or using a fork to cut!

Now I very much could be to blame, not following sound practice. However that would have been the case also with the Rex, Mo-Max, etc bits. Yet they showed no bad results. They may cost 3-4 times as much, but my future money will be spent ONLY for known US HSS cutting bits.

Rick
    Son of the silver stream ..... Bullet caster.

Comment

http://www.findarticles.com/p/articl...09/ai_n9096952

A good explanation of HSS, Cobalt & Carbide.

Cobalt tooling can generally run 50% faster than HSS, while still retaining a great deal of toughness. Not as hard as carbide, not as brittle as carbide.

Barry Milton

Comment