Axle shaft build up?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Axle shaft build up?

A guy brought me an axle from a full floater, wide 9 oval track car. He needed the middle of the shaft built up about .075 so the mid tube seal wouldn't leak. He wanted me to spray weld it but I refused (very pricey axle). I built it up with J-B weld and machined it down. It needs another coat and final turning/polishing. All this is for is the three lip seal so oil won't get slung out onto the brake on the passenger side as it turns. Do you think this will work? Thanks!
    Russ
    I have tools I don't even know I own...

Hi Russ,

I think it was a good choice not to weld on the axle. I have no experience with J-B Weld, so can't comment on it. If you were concerned about it's wear properties you could always use a speedy sleeve for the seal to run on.

John.

Comment

No, it will last awhile but it will wear away JB weld isn't for rolling contact areas,
      I would look into a different type seal.
      Non, je ne regrette rien.

Comment

What about a Speedi-Sleeve over the JB Weld?

Comment

I'm not sure what a "speedy sleeve is. But I bet you could modify a sleeve that they make for harmonic balancers when the seal area wears down. Might be the same thing. All it is is a stainless sheetmetal tube with about .02 wall thickness. You put on red loctite and slide the sleeve over it and your done. It does make the "new" area alittle larger but worked fine for my V8 and it was on for 160,000 miles and still didnt leak!

Comment

Speedi-Sleeve is a product of Chicago Rawhide. Bascially it is a thin stainless sleeve that can be driven over the worn shaft to reestablish the sealing surface. I have used them several times to "save the day" with good results. They allow you to use the standard seal which can be a big plus.

Please see:

http://www2.chicago-rawhide.com/PDF/...lation_50A.pdf

For what it's worth.

Axel

Comment