Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Anybody ever build there tools using Gingery's books?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anybody ever build there tools using Gingery's books?

Hello All,
    I am a Machining student at belmont tech college in St. Clairsville Ohio. And, a couple of years ago my mom bought me David Gingerys books "Build Your Own Metal Working Shop from Scrap" Series. And, now I would like to build them. Since I am a machining student. Has anyone ever done this? Where could I get supplies for the characol foundry? Also, when I am done, where can I find some plans for steam engines? I am into those and hit and miss engines. Also, would these engines be possible with this equipment? Please help me.
    Thanks,
    Jeeper

------------------
    Duct Tape, the most widely used tool!!
    Whenever you hear BOOM in a machine shop, always ask, \"Finish Cut?\"

Jeeper
    There's a yahoo group for Gingery builders http://groups.yahoo.com/group/gingery_machines/
    Good Luck!

Herb

Comment

Thanks alot Herb for the info.
      Chris

------------------

Comment

Live Steam, also published by the sponsor of this board is a good start for IC stuff. Check the ads for leads. I bet if you ask Neil nice he'll send you a free copy.

[This message has been edited by Gizmo (edited 10-01-2002).]

Comment

I have read about his books in a catalog I get, but am not so impressed. Take his bandsaw for instance if you have a junyard full of scrap metal and odds and end parts it might be worthwhile. But if you plan to buy iron for the project, as well as a motor and cord and springs, sheet metal, coolant pump, and whatever else it requires, you will find that you have over half the cost of buying a cheap new one. And unless you have other good equipment to make it with you can't be sure of the accuracy.