sharpen your own or buy indexable

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• sharpen your own or buy indexable

Since I'm just getting into a lathe and am learning as much as I can, I was wondering if most folks here sharpen and shape their own HSS lathe tools or if you buy the indexable stuff?

I ask because I prefer to do as much as I can myself yet at the same time I prefer to enjoy making parts and wonder if I'd be better off just buying preshaped indexable stuff.

FWIW, this stuff will be used in my Fimms q/c post.

Absolutley learn to sharpen your own HSS blanks. The cost savings is well worth it. The ability to custom make any tool you need is indispensable some times.

I have some carbide insertable tool holders, but I reserve the carbide inserts for things like blanking out an axle shaft to be shortened. I cut those while still hard. If I had them annealed, I'd use HSS on them. Anything soft enough for HSS sees the HSS.

I'm working with older equipment in a home shop. I'd guess that you are in the same situation.

If you were a pro where time=money, you probably wouldn't need to ask. The answer for that situation seems to be carbide for most jobs just to speed thinsg up.

Comment

In my machine shop class, you had to grind your own HSS lathe tool bit. I used the same HSS bit that I made at the beginning of the class all through out the entire class. That's the only one I've ever made. At home, I just buy the Carbide inserts, or tons of the Carbide brazed on bits from ENCO. If I ever need a special bit, I'll grind it (If I still remember how), otherwise it's cheaper to just buy them pre-made.

-Adrian

Comment

[QUOTE]Originally posted by Nutter:
        [B]Absolutley learn to sharpen your own HSS blanks. The ability to custom make any tool you need is indispensable some times.

True. A special shape or form for which there is no insert, you'll have the knowledge of how to sharpen your own lathe tools.

The cost savings is well worth it.