welding safety question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• welding safety question

I just tried out my new autodarkening helmet, with my new mig welder.

(Off topic, I didn't know it was POSSIBLE to mangle a weld that badly! - practice better make perfect!)

I ran a quick line, about four inches. When I was done, I had a bright afterimage in my eyes, that lasted over 1/2 hour. (It obviously dimmed over that half hour, but was pretty bright in the first few minutes.)

I have no experience at all with welders. Is this normal, or are my panic insticts correct, and this is very bad?? How do you know if the helmet is working properly?

Thanks in advance for answers. I just think there are more fun ways to go blind...

I welded for a few hours the other night with my HF auto dark hood and didn't have any problems. I had the shade set on "10" and it set to "fast".

Mine goes from 9-12.

That doesn't sound good...
    Techno-Anarchist

Comment

I'm a novice welder using a MIG machine and a cheap auto darkening hood. I have never had that experience. Scares me.

Comment

There should be a spot to adjust the shade, I would think for mig work you would want a minimum of 9 or 10, going up to 12 even if running heavy current. One of the things about using auto darkening helmets is that I tend to set them darker than I would if using a comparable 'normal' helmet, because I'm not trying to hold everything 'just so' when I flip the helmet down.

Mark

Comment

Ben...if it is new..and if it's solar, was it charged? If it's not set out in the light it won't have a charge and the lens won't darken.
          The way I check mine is flick a striker or even shine a bright light in front of it. It should darken immediately.
          Russ
          I have tools I don't even know I own...

Comment

Make sure that the helment is working.Dimming when it is supposed to. Have some one that is experienced check it out.

A bright afterimage is not good I don't think.