Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• OT: New Computer Advice?

Hello The Board!
    I've just sold enough firewood to "afford" a new computer. The desktop I'm on stays with Mama-san and kidlets at home. I, on the other hand, am often at my 'other place'; working etc.
    I know enough to turn the things on, am learning simple CAD stuff to maybe try CNC, can do online research, basic A/V presentations and may someday have a need to take it on the road with a projector to teach occasionally. I am a photographer and thought this might enhance that side of my work too.
    My Question...When is enough Computer enough? Any recomendations as to memory, processor speeds, auxiliary capabilities? Laptop (portable, pricy ,hard to service) vs. Desktop (Not mobile, Cheap!, easy service). Am I looking for too much from one 'wunder box'?
    Any thoughts appreciated.
    Will A.

No compuker expert here for sure but as a fellow photog just thought I'd add this.

If you go for a desktop, get a humongous screen. I have a 19" Sony LCD and I love it. Lots' of room for menus when working on Photoshop CS. I use 1gig of ram for that one and it works fine.

If you endup with a notebook, don't let them give you two 256mb memmory sticks as you will have to scrap them to upgrade to 1gig later. I ended with half as much memory as I wanted on my Toshiba Satelite 1805s that I use as my on the road digital darkroom.
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    Thank you to our families of soldiers, many of whom have given so much more then the rest of us for the Freedom we enjoy.

It is true, there is nothing free about freedom, don't be so quick to give it away.

Comment

Here is a computer that you might be able to trade some firewood for. It's a little old has kind of a high "learning curve", but it will do everything that you instruct it to do.

-Adrian

[This message has been edited by 3 Phase Lightbulb (edited 11-07-2005).]

Comment