How do you make round holes in thin fiberglass

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do you make round holes in thin fiberglass

I want to make a series of approx. 1/4" round holes in some thin sheets (about 5 plies of 5oz fabric)of fiberglass. I'm getting tri-lobular holes. I'm considering trying some carbide fiberglass routers and finishing with a some sanding cones on a Foredom (Dremel like flex shaft tool)...I wanted to get opinions before I go out and lay down my cash. These perforations do not have to be exact size but do have to look uniform with appealling craftmanship when finished and painted.

Get a unibit stepped drill bit. They cut nice holes but you have to be careful about not pushing too hard or you'll get to big of a hole if it goes in too far.

Comment

Might try a gasket punch (sharp one) on some scrap. I have no experience here\
      Steve

Comment

Fiberglass is quite abrasive so using regular HSS drill will dull it quite quickly. Definitely go with carbide and for a clean hole keep the RPM high. For 1/4" hole, try the carbide drill bits used for PCB drilling, which has a cutting end profiled like 2 flute endmill.

Albert

Comment

Try sandwiching both sides with a thicker material. I use lexan or Plexiglass on the top side so I can see my marks. Use MDF board or some other inexpensive material on the back side. Clamp all three very tightly, this will minimize tearout. Use HSS drill bits, cheap ones, you can resharpen them as needed or just through them out. Unibits give better holes in sheet metal but are to expensive to waste on such abrasive material.

I hope this is helpful

Comment

Try using a centerdrill and drill all the way through with it. You didn't tell us the thickness of the material. Fiberglass will dull almost anything quickless.

Comment

Try using a centerdrill and drill all the way through with it. You didn't tell us the thickness of the material. Fiberglass will dull almost anything quickly.

Comment