Different Knurl -- Same Tool

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Different Knurl -- Same Tool

There have been several posts on the topic of knurls. A lot of the discussion has revolved around whether the item being knurled must have a diameter closely approximating a multiple of the knurl pitch. This photo shows two different knurls made with the same knurl wheels on the same tool.
    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v7...dish/knurl.jpg

Anyone care to comment? Sir John?
    Lynn S.

Looks good to me. But I'm no expert.
    Jonathan P.

Comment

It looks like the knurl on the smaller diameter was double tracking. That can happen when the pitch diameter of the work is half a tooth off from the knurls. If it's a third of a tooth off you'll see triple tracking, etc.

Usually when I'm knurling something and I get the double tracking I'll just turn off .010 or .020 diameter and knurl again, usually comes out OK afterwards. But with an inch PD knurl it should knurl OK on any .032 (1/32) inch diameter.

Comment

rkepler --
        I'm sure the knurl is making multiple tracks on the smaller diameter, but it isn't really apparent to the naked eye. It just looks like a finer knurl was used. I think the reflections in the photo accent the angle of one knurl more than the other (it was a scissor type tool). I'm thinking that any knurl pitch will work on just about any diameter if enough pressure is used and the knurl is allowed to track long enough to displace the metal sufficiently to establish the pattern.
        Lynn S.

Comment

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Lynn Standish:
          rkepler --
          I'm sure the knurl is making multiple tracks on the smaller diameter, but it isn't really apparent to the naked eye.
          </font>
          I guess my eyes aren't naked. It looks like crap to me.

Comment