Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking at Peerless Jewelers lathe on eBay- I need advice

Hey everybody,
    I'm pretty new to the discussion board, think it's great.
    I'm a home machinest as a hobby, nothing too complicated on my Southbend 8" lathe, but I would like to try really small work, like on a jeweler's lathe, but know nothing about what type lathe to start with... I just found a Peerless Jeweler's lathe on eBay, would like you guys to give me input on if it would be a good deal? Any input would be appreciated.
    http://cgi.ebay.com/PEERLESS-JEWELER...QQcmdZViewItem

Thanks, Brad

This is a very small watchmakers lathe like the boley lorch small lathes just remember that they are very basic engravers rest lathes designed with clock watchmaking in mind they are considered very old fashioned today as they dont have any of the amenities of the modern lathe screwcutting etc etc etc might be better to go for a small similar lathe with all the bells and whistles so that you dont feel so restricted in the furure Alistair
    Please excuse my typing as I have a form of parkinsons disease

Comment

Instead of that one you would probably be better off buying a new TAIG or Sherline lathe.

They are both highly accurate little lathes that are surprisingly useful.

I've been thinking about adding a TAIG to my workshop for a year or so.

Look at www.cartertools.com

[This message has been edited by pgmrdan (edited 01-23-2006).]

Comment

Jewelery and watchmaker lathes are free hand like a wood lathe. I have a Sherline lathe and a number of the toys along with thier knee mill with DRO on both and I am happy with. don't know anything about the Taig.

------------------
        Glen
        Been there, probally broke it doing that
        Glen
        Been there, probably broke it, doing that!
        I am not a lawyer, and never played one on TV!