New to Machining_Need Some Opinions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to Machining_Need Some Opinions

Thanks guys. After posting this last night I did exactly what Dog suggested. Oh boy! Unfortunate about Smithy since they're right down the expressway from me. I just don't want the hassle of a bad machine. I like to build things that work and build them with stuff that works. I think considering what I'm planning a lathe and mill setup would be best instead of the this and that in one. I'd still like to know what the best manufacturer is for what I need. If there is one.

New to Machining_Need Some Opinions

Hello all,
    Although I am new to machining I have many years of mechanical design and "tinkering". I am looking for a "desktop" Mill/Lathe suitable for machining telscope mounts and telescope parts. I almost put my money down on a Smithy but after reading a few posts I think I'll pass which is unfortunate because that's really the size I'm looking for. The Sherline and Taig mini-mills and lathes are too small for what I plan on machining. Are there any well made 3-in-1 type setups out there that will permit me to spend more time on making things rather than trying to get the equipment to work right? Has anyone had a good experience with Smithy or does Smithy only talk the talk?

Comment

You might try banging in 3 in 1 in the search engine. You might bang in Smithy also because some similar machines may be mentioned in the same thread. I know this topic has come up several times in the past year or two. I think most guys would encourage to not do the 3 - 4 or 5 - in 1's. If you're into astronomy heavy enough to build your own gear than you might be a methodical enough thinker to be able to handle a 3-1 machine. I'd sure hate to be far along in a project, mess something up and then have to back up using a 3 - 1 setup! I do alot of backing up and retrying these days !!

ray........