New to the board

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to the board

I've been lurking for a while and decided to join.
    A little about myself: I'm 25, I was a mechanic for 6 years at Toyota and GM, now I run the Technical support department for an automotive brake parts manufacturer. I got into road racing (the legal kind) about 2 years ago and built a VW GTI for the track. I'm now getting to the point where I need to start redesigning systems instead of just installing better parts to stay ahead of the competition....which is why I am here. About a month ago I picked up a HF 7x12 mini lathe, then the cheapo 4x6 bandsaw, then after playing with the lathe for about 2 weeks I decided I could no longer go through life without a mill, so I bought the HF mini-mill. I have figured out the basics, and turned a bunch of perfectly good metal into worthless scraps in the process, but I'm learning. If theres any tips you have for a newbie like me, they will be appreciated.

Two things- first your next purchase should be a foundry so you can turn all that scrap back into good material

Next, welcome to the nuthouse. As you know, you can learn lots of things here, like child raising, how cold it is in Juno, how to solve the worlds problems, and oh yeah, stuff about metalworking.
    I seldom do anything within the scope of logical reason and calculated cost/benefit, etc- I'm following my passion-

Comment

Welcome lbhgti:

I'll remember free advice for you if I don't forget, it is a little late for me now.

------------------
      Today I will gladly share my experience and advice, for there no sweeter words than "I told you so."
      Today I will gladly share my experience and advice, for there no sweeter words than "I told you so."

Comment

Welcome to the smouldering cauldron! Get used to the rhetoric. Have fun

------------------
        BFH

Comment

lbghti: