Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Anyone Read "Foundations of Mechanical Accuracy" ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anyone Read "Foundations of Mechanical Accuracy" ?

Hi All,
    Guy Latard recommended two books , Machine tool Reconditioning and " Foundations of Mechanical Accuracy "
    Interstingly they both sell for ninty some dollars , that is without discount.
    I've tried to get "Foundations" from interlibrary loan as he suggests and can't and find myself thinking of ordering it. . . . Anyone think it's worth it ?

The book is better than most university texts that I've had. If you are interested in the subject matter, you probably won't find a better reference text.

Only you can decide if it is worth your money. It answered some questions that I didn't know enough to ask.

------------------
    Mike L
    Amateur machinist, self-taught. I had a poor teacher, but I was a good student.
    Mike L
    Amateur machinist, self-taught. I had a poor teacher, but I was a good student.

Comment

FMA is an interesting book. Extremely well done. If you read it, you'll have a much better appreciation for and understanding of "accuracy" when you're through. But is it worth $90? As Mike says, that's up to you. If I were spending $90 for a book though, I think I'd want to see what I was buying first.

----------
      Try to make a living, not a killing. -- Utah Phillips
      Don't believe everything you know. -- Bumper sticker
      Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects. -- Will Rogers
      There are lots of people who mistake their imagination for their memory. - Josh Billings
      Law of Logical Argument - Anything is possible if you don't know what you are talking about.
      Don't own anything you have to feed or paint. - Hood River Blackie

Comment

Hi lalatheman,