maple and Ipe for Thrud

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• maple and Ipe for Thrud

Thrud,look at this for some Birdseye maple and Ipe (ironwood) together.There's also a pic of my old Rockford no 3 mill. Bobby

http://home.att.net/~robert.l.jones/...ome.html-.html

Rob, as a woodworker i've always wondered how that joint on a pool cue is made. if you've got time i'd be interested to know.

btw, you've done some nice work

Comment

Andrew:
      Fine woodworking a few years back had a great article on cue making. It may have been one of the B&W only issues (old). Worth a gander. It is interesting to note that many of techniques used in build up are also used with inlay banding - or were a hundred odd years ago.

Hint:The "points" are formed from the corners of pieces glued to the maple core which is taper turned.

Robert
      I have a Huebler 18 oz. cue that is a little short for me. I bought it for 1/10 retail ($150 - two constant diameter forends inc. - sorry do not remember the correct term). My question to you is there a way to increse its length - I presume the maple fore shaft could be made longer with a spacer. Email me on this if you can.

Like the pictures BTW! Beautiful sticks, and great choice in wood.

Dave

[This message has been edited by Thrud (edited 12-26-2002).]

Comment

Thanks guys, I appreciate the comments.

Andrew, the joint is a tenon and socket which is then drilled and tapped for a bolt that draws it up for a nice strong joint.

Thrud, the butt section can't be changed,(theoretically it can, but shouldn't) but a new, longer shaft can be made to give about 1" to 1 1/2" more length. If a spacer is added, it changes the solidity of the hit of the cue. You bet Maple rocks! Bobby