good desigh for homebrew edm?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• good desigh for homebrew edm?

Electronics is not my thing so I would like some advice on plans for a homebuilt edm. Anyone build one from the book sold on this web page? My intended use would run toward broken tap and screw removal, no production.
    Thanks
    hms50
    hms

Langolis' Build an EDM is the best explanation I've seen so far. The book has all the info for a complete "system", power supply, feed, & mechanics. As an electrical engineer, I found little to improve upon electrically. Mechanically I used materials from the junk box, but my junk box may have been somewhat better equipped than Langolis'.
    Wes
    Weston Bye - Author, The Mechatronist column, Digital Machinist magazine
    ~Practitioner of the Electromechanical Arts~

Comment

Apppears Village press has stopped printing this one, got the below via google: Note spelling is "Langlois"

TITLE: Build an EDM Electrical Discharge Machining, Removing Metal by Spark Erosion
      by Contribution by: Joe D. Rice, Robert P. Langlois, Clover McKinley
      ISBN: 0941653528
      Publisher: Village Press Publications
      Publish Date: 01/01/1997
      Binding: Hardcover
      List Price: USD 39.00

Store Book Price Shipping Charge Sales Tax Total Cost in USD Order Processing Time Shipping Time Click
      to Buy Save the Info
      Powell's 18.00 3.50 0 21.50
      1 copies available

Comment

Go back to the opening page of this BBS and select "Store". Under Books, Shop Projects, is Robert Langlois' "Build an EDM" for $18.00. 8 1/2" x 11" Softcover.

Comment

This one has been on my back burner since the artical came out. I'm having a hell of a time finding capacitors in the right voltage and Mf also transformers.
          I'd appreciate any help especially any dumpster diving sources as my funds are limited.
          Thanks guys.

Comment

Rustybolt: