1916 HARDINGE LATHE

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1916 HARDINGE LATHE

I recently acquired a 1916 9" Hardinge tool room lathe.It is in very good cond.,and I'd like to let the next owner ruin it.I'm a budding machinist/hobbiest,but I learn semi-fast and am good w/hands.What I need is information that pertains to this lathe ,ie; Illustrated Parts Catalog,use & care,adjustment.I was told by the previous owner that the headstock brgs are of a cone type config.and that they should be just about broken in.He also said that it has most of the precursors to the modern lathe ,as I'm learning.One of my concerns is that the brg closest to chuck gets moderately warm where as the other doesn't ,I understand this brg is closer to chuck and may be subject to more of a load.I lubed brgs prior to use w/same oil used on ways.Is it possible that this oils viscosity is too thick or is this normal? I have figured out what most of the knobs & levers are for ,but have questions on others,and setting up for threading should be interesting the first time!I basically need enough info on this lathe and machining in general to practice,learn,practice,learn...(or be dangerous!)Any advice,reference info,etc would be appreciated.

If the headstock casting contaning the bearing(s)does NOT get too warm for you to lay your hand comfortably on it after 10 minutes of high speed running it then its OK. Check it every 15 seconds to make sure it doesn't get too hot. Use a any good 10 wt. oil first [mineral base oil is fine but I like synthetic better.]

Go online (Ebay) and find the sellers who make reprints of machine tool manuals and sell them on CD-ROM. Probably you will have to settle for an old Hardinge lathe manual dated close to yours. Call or go on line and contact Hardinge Bros. directly (Elmira, NY area)to ask for a manual. Who knows they might make you a copy for a nominal fee!