A Triple Expansion steam engine in miniature

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A Triple Expansion steam engine in miniature

A couple of my favorite engines have to be the Beam type and a Triple Expansion marine style. I have built several beam engines over my career but never a Triple so using the Stuart Compound Launch engine as a starting point I began designing my own. I used the Stuart dimensions for the H.P. and I.P. cylinders then using the size ratio of these 2 I calculated the dimension for the L.P. cylinder. Once I had these sizes I started drawing but at .1/2 scale.
    The cylinders, valve chests and covers are made from cast iron. The heads and other steel parts are made from 1144 steel. The shafts and stanchions are made from Stainless Steel. All the brass parts are made from 360 brass. The majority of the small bolts are M1.2x.25 (that's .047 diameter with a .078 hex.
    gbritnell
    You may only view thumbnails in this gallery. This gallery has 3 photos.

Some additional photos
    You may only view thumbnails in this gallery. This gallery has 3 photos.

Comment

A video also.
      https://youtu.be/KWF7jRd-3eU

Comment

wow, just wow!

Comment

very nice work as always George. The triple is a challenging project, what did it take you, about 6 weeks?
          in Toronto Ontario - where are you?

Comment

Glad to see you back George.
            That is really nice. Such a tiny scale must have added considerably to the challenge!

Comment

Wow, nothing sort of fantastic ! Built in a couple months is amazing as well ! I would love to see more of the machining in progress, I could learn a lot !

Comment

Originally posted by mattthemuppet View Post
                wow, just wow!
                Nay! ...Double Wow! Even Triple Wow. I don't have a penny on hand right now, but can't be more than 3" long.

Does that little thing actually run? ...on steam? Would be impressive enough even if just a static model.