Nomex Welding Gloves?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Nomex Welding Gloves?

15 years ago when I was a volunteer firefighter, we had Nomex gloves. I find the big, thick, heavy leather gloves very unfriendly and hard to use and so don't usually use anything for short welding sessions. Do they make a relatively inexpensive Nomex welding glove?
    Peter
    Grantham, New Hampshire

I seem to have a general feeling that a lot of TIG welders user a lighter glove than MIG or stick welders for dexterity. Maybe look into some of those. I would caution that the reason I like a big heavy glove for MIG welding is that I sometimes have to get in there tight with my off hand and it cooks the leather on the forefinger of my left glove. Those insulated leather gloves allow me to get the job down before I burn my hand. Usually its an important enough job I don't mind the expensive of another pair of gloves, but now when I think of it ahead of time I wrap some muffler insulation around my forefinger first.
    *** I always wanted a welding stinger that looked like the north end of a south bound chicken. Often my welds look like somebody pointed the wrong end of a chicken at the joint and squeezed until something came out. Might as well look the part.

Comment

I don't know about the Nomex gloves. I have Arc welding gauntlets that are bulky and clumsy but protect the whole forearm. But I also have MIG gloves that cover the wrist and are about as thick as the common split hide leather work gloves. They allow a bit more dexterity. When finesse is needed I use the TIG gloves which are as thin as doe-skin driving gloves.

Black Stallion makes gloves with strategically placed Nomex. http://www.blackstallion.com/product...ucts_per_row=5
      At the end of the project, there is a profound difference between spare parts and extra parts.

Comment