Gulledge Dividing Head Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Gulledge Dividing Head Question

I've been looking for a dividing head, and ran across & picked up this one at an estate sale. One plate, two sided, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20 and 21, 23, 27, 29, 31, 33. Like most used dividing heads I see for sale, it has one plate. I am a novice with these things. What are my chances of stumbling across plates? Can I make one? Can I adapt one from another dividing head? Am I better off buying one of those ChiCom Brown & Sharp copies? I'm slowly tooling up and am a novice on a lot of things.

I acquired a used one with a single plate also. I was able to find a pair of plates on eBay that were the same diameter but turned out to be too thick. I faced them to the correct thickness on my lathe and then cleaned them up on a surface grinder. I guess because of all the holes they made quite the musical sound during facing.
    I see you even got the tailstock so nice find. Even though I now have all the plates I have never used them once and have used it more as a rotab.
    Tom - Spotsylvania, VA

Comment

You will find that the 18 hole circle is the one you will use the most. If you know trigonometry you can make any hole circle you like by starting with a blank plate and moving X and Y (from center) to the coordinates of each hole. Not hard to do if you have a basic calculator with trig functions. If you don't know trig find someone who does to guide you through it - try a high school kid. It is a bit tedious but it can be done. I made a 25 hole circle once many years ago - I don't remember why - and it worked fine.
      Last edited by DATo; 12-07-2019, 07:43 AM.

Comment