A question of Etiquette

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A question of Etiquette

Since I'm a total newbie here I would like to ask about sending EMails to the members here. A number of threads here have led me to want to ask questions to specific people primarily about the machines that they have mentioned that they own. Often the questions I want to ask have nothing to do with the subject matter in the thread so it seems inappropriate to try and change the subject. So my question is:

Is it considered generally acceptable practice here to send off the EMail or should I ask someone specifically within a thread if I may Email them with questions??

Regards

Bob

Bob,

When anyone registers on this forum, they have the option to "Keep your email address viewable to other users when you post notes" - I'd guess that anyone specifically not wanting emails would click the "No" option here.

Just my thoughts

Ian
    All of the gear, no idea...

Comment

Start a new thread with the question so we all can share in the process.

------------------
      Neil Peters
      Neil Peters

When on the hunt, a broken part is better than no part at all.

Comment

bkman,

Guess your confusing 'etiquette' and 'good manners' here. Remember the French invented 'etiquette' to make others feel uncomfortable, whereas the British invented 'good manners' to make people feel relaxed and at ease. [That's this weeks non PC remark!!]

Sometimes a deviation within the thread is the spice of a thread, it triggers other contributors memories, leading to stories, accounts of past times, and endless witicisms, we all learn from these anecdotes. Those that want to concentrate on the serious side of a thread can still 'pull it back into line' whenever they want.

Don't be shy - go for it in the open ~ we all want to know what Thrud's sisters meatloaf recipe really is!!

RR

Comment

Yup what Niel says. Start a new thread.