Keeping a cutting edge sharp

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Keeping a cutting edge sharp

While the parts and method I will explain is not metalworking related, I believe it is applicable to metalworking tools. Read on and let me know what you think.

This is all about a razor blade. I used to replace my double edge blades every week. I've been using my current blades since 01-01-2001. And it still gives me great shaves. I've thought about retiring it, but have no reason to do it.

What I do is:

Wash thoroughly
    Lather my face
    Shave
    Rinse the razor
    Dry the razor
    Blow the razor dry again

Why I do what I do:

There is no way my facial hair is harder than a steel razor blade. Shaving hair does not dull a blade. Two things cause a blade to go 'dull'.

1. Dirt on your face. Dirt is very finely ground rock. Rock is harder than steel and will dull a blade.

2. Water (or lubricants, soap, etc.) drying on the blade will form deposits that prevent the blade from reaching your face - giving that 'dull' feel to the blade.

Washing your face removes the dirt that can damage the razor blade.

Lather will lubricate your face and the blade.

Rinse the razor after to use to clean it.

Dry the blade by shaking excess water out, then towel drying it.

Finally, I blow the blade dry. Moisture hides in between the blades and will form a residue if it dries in there.

I'm currently using similar techniques with metal cutting with good results.

Clean the metal before cutting. I also use a sacrificial tool for metals that can't be cleaned properly.

Lubricate the part to protect the part and the tool. Prevent edge build up.

Clean the tool before you put it away for storage.

------------------
    Mike L
    Amateur machinist, self-taught. I had a poor teacher, but I was a good student.
    Mike L