Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Two VFD on one circuit... possible problems?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Two VFD on one circuit... possible problems?

My lathe and milling machine each have their own VFD. I feed the two VFD's on one 220 V circuit. 20 Amp circuit breaker in the breaker box. There is about 25' of 10 AWG to the lathe VFD, and then 25' of 10 AWG to the mill. Each VFD is a 1.5 HP TECO. They are in parallel. Lathe motor is a 1.5 HP 3Ph and mill is a 1 HP 3Ph. This has worked fine for a year, but I've never tried running both machines at once before last night.

Last night I was doing a series of long cuts time-consuming on the mill using the automatic X feed (with limit switches). I had done 5 passes when I thought "It will be more efficient if I use the lathe to make the brass knobs while this thing is cutting". So I set up the lathe, and turned it on.

As soon as I turned on the lathe there was a "thyunk" from the mill as the carbide cutter broke.

Dang ... it was one of my better cutters.

I have done a few small experiments since then, but I can't see any reason for what happened. I have turned on the mill (cutting air), and then had my wife turn on the lathe (also cutting air). I couldn't hear any difference in the sound of the mill nor could I see any momentary slow down (although it's possible there was a small variation that I didn't see). I haven't tried anything with the mill under load since I have a limited number of carbide cutters left (in fact, only 1 left).

Was there some interaction, or was it just really unfortunate timing?