The vageries of import collets

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The vageries of import collets

So, I have a useful assortment of 5c collets. Quite a few that I've never tried. My 15/16 is one in the never used department. I discovered that it would not accept a .937" dia. workpiece. A quick and dirty measurement with the dial calipers showed the diameter at .935. Well now, this a fine kettle of fish! I wanted to insert some kinda delicate aluminum parts, and I didn't want to scratch them up.

What would you do? I decided to try to expand it a little. No go. Snap it went. Oh well, garbage in, garbage out. My advice is to qualify anything that comes into your shop. Tooling cutting tools raw stock etc. it's what I did when I was a heavy duty truck mechanic. Parts weren't always acceptable. I've been retired a while now, how soon we (me) forget..... Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0848.JPG
Views:	351
Size:	2.35 MB
ID:	1854868
    I cut it off twice; it's still too short
    Oregon, USA

Hate to say it but .002" is not something that will be a deterrent in installing a part into an expandable collet, in fact it's the norm in allot of circumstances, I routinely install drill bits or material that's .010" over or undersize without a problem (in my R8's)

what you can't do is try to expand the collet way past and expect it to deform --- they are super hard and will break as you found out, and 15/16ths are getting very thinwall towards your threaded area (as you found out) this really is "user error" more than poor collets...

Comment

Boomer, I wholeheartedly agree. It's owner abuse. However, the " name brand " collets I have here have clearance for the nominal diameter. A typical example is a 1" size Hardinge I have here. The free diameter is roughly 1.009". Others such as enco, royal and Neal Skokie show clearance also.
      I cut it off twice; it's still too short
      Oregon, USA

Comment