Lead pour release

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lead pour release

The 10" wheel on my grinder has been out of side to side balance since new so today I finally got fed up and pulled it off. Instead of a center bushing for the shaft it has a poured lead bushing. Pretty rough too. So I punched it out and machined up a Teflon one but as you might expect that didn't work. So I am planning on setting it up with a 3/4 steel (?) plug and pouring new lead around it but I am wondering if I will be able to get the plug out without damage. Pretty thin wall of about 1/16. Any suggestions on this idea? Cheers!

Are you saying the lead will be 1/16th thick? Lead shrinks a lot when solidifying so as long as it doesn't bond (as in solder bond) to the steel the bushing should press out fine.
    Southwest Utah

Comment

Could always spray it with PAM cooking spray. No kidding, as a welder I use that stuff for an anti-spatter. It makes a good mold release too, I used to cast my fishing weights with it.

Comment

So you're pouring it into the center of the wheel? What's keeping your mandrill centered? If it were me I would make a delrin bushing with a slightly oversized OD, press it in, then ream it out. The tension of the springy delrin should hold it.

Comment

Originally posted by chipmaker4130 View Post
          Are you saying the lead will be 1/16th thick? Lead shrinks a lot when solidifying so as long as it doesn't bond (as in solder bond) to the steel the bushing should press out fine.
          Yes wall thickness of the poured bushing is about 1/16".

Comment

Originally posted by gellfex View Post
            So you're pouring it into the center of the wheel? What's keeping your mandrill centered? If it were me I would make a delrin bushing with a slightly oversized OD, press it in, then ream it out. The tension of the springy delrin should hold it.