broaches

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• broaches

I am a plumber by trade.Another plumber asked if I could help him out. here in S Africa all our houses are brick.He installed four shower mixers too deep into the wall.Once it was tiled he found out that the trim set wouldnt fit.He would have to either chop it out and retile or try extend the handles. Fortunately its just the diverter handle that needs to be extended.It looks like this but this one is done at the right depth
    You may only view thumbnails in this gallery. This gallery has 1 photos.

The diverter looks like this,

Comment

I needed to make an extension for the sleeve as well as for the spindle.I dont have dies so I single pointed the extension.The spindle extension was a different story and much more complicated

Comment

This is what my broaches look like. I cant draw so I do it by trial and error.

Comment

It worked for my job and fitted well but is not perfect. I would like to know how these broaches would be made. They are quite small,the diameter being only 7,6mm.How would this broach actually look like and how would it be set up? For the male broach I had to make a stripper plate because its really hard to take it out. For the female broach I just press it out from the opposite direction.

Comment

The final product looks like this. It just extends everything by 15mm.I did this on my lathe using it as a slotter. How would this normally be made.?

Comment

with a pull broach. The broach would be about 12 to 18 in long. The little end would be placed in the product hole then in a hydraulic broach and pulled through . The small end of broach has a nob on it to place into a latch box on the end of the ram. A good operator could run 5000 to 7000 pcs. per 8 hr shift.

Comment

If the broach is 18 inch long you would not be able to do the female part as it is only 15mm deep. Unless one makes a female part and seperate male part and locktite them together.

Comment

Plunger,