Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

The old mill/drill vs small knee mill dilemma!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The old mill/drill vs small knee mill dilemma!

Hi everyone, I’m brand new to this so bear with me regarding my profile and whether or not I am doing this correctly!

I have finally come to end of my tether, trying to find more information via Google on the two milling machines I am researching. My question to begin with is, which mill should I buy from these two? (See attachments)

It’s basically a toss up between a small knee mill with 8x30 table and an RF45 clone. Both are the same price but the RF45 has more added to it. I will have to add at least the DRO to the knee mill but the power feed doesn’t bother me at this point. Most of my work is small scale and I don’t work on auto stuff. The convenience of switching speeds on the RF45 is the most tempting feature vs the belt changing on the knee. But I rather like the sturdy design of the knee mill and wonder if it might be much quieter. Has anyone compared the two machines for noise levels? Being a home shop guy, noise is a huge deciding factor for me.

Any thoughts would be awesome.

Thanks,
    Pete
    Attached Files

One more thing... Can I just add I realize the only way to get a feel for these things is to go and see the machines in the stores, but I guess I’ll have to wait until this awful virus leaves!

Pete

Comment