Made a Welding Square. Also, Anchorlube review

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Made a Welding Square. Also, Anchorlube review

Been trying to do a project or so a week, to keep myself from going insane at home. Last week i welded up a table out of some scrap steel, and then remembered that im a garbage welder. Part of my problem is fixturing, i cant ever seem to get my bits and pieces to sit still long enough to get them welded in place. The other problem is a Harbor Freight flux core welder. Ive tried tacking pieces together, those magnet angle blocks, MacGuyvering contraptions out of C clamps and 123 blocks, just couldnt get something to work.

Decided i needed a nice, beefy hunk o block to clamp the pieces to. First thought was one of those right angle clamps doodads, like they use for making picture frames, but even the welding specific ones look kinda chintzy. Something like the FIreball Tool squares looked a lot better, but uhh, theyre pretty proud of those huh. Cant justify $100 for a pair of the small ones, or stomach it. Sure as hell can make one.

A better welder wouldve just welded together some angle iron, but if i could manage to weld together 2 lengths of angle iron and have them be A) square and B) not look like i just pointed a chicken rear at the joint i wouldnt be making this, now would I? Ordered in a piece of 1/2" hot rolled plate, did a bit of slicing and dicing. Nothing fancy, just a basic L shape with some flat bar on either leg as a clamping surface. Measures bout 6"x6", clamping face is about 2" on the outside, some clearance cuts to give near full access to the corner to be welded. Came out pretty rigid, should make a nice clamping surface to hold the size of pieces im likely to weld, namely 1" square tube. Added bonus, itll serve double duty as a try square or home defense tool. Sucker probably weighs 6 pounds or so.