Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1913 Galion road grader in 1/12 scale

Gentlemen,
    Here's a project I have been working on for the past 14 months. This was unique in a way that building model engines can't compare. It involved making a lot of parts from sheet brass which required bending, riveting and soldering. Yes there was a lot of machining but here again a lot of the parts required special fixtures,tools and setups to complete.
    https://youtu.be/BDkGjuT9gX8

Wow, very nice!

Comment

Amazing. The attention to detail is impressive. The video would be improved by a shot or two of the full size original, regardless of what condition it is actually in.
      "A machinist's (WHAP!) best friend (WHAP! WHAP!) is his hammer. (WHAP!)" - Fred Tanner, foreman, Lunenburg Foundry and Engineering machine shop, circa 1979

Comment

That is a beautiful piece of work, George! Thanks for sharing it with us.
        Lynn (Huntsville, AL)

Comment

Now there's something that would please anybody and it's good to see you at least used the correct nuts and bolts and all made to scale as well.

Had to make my own machine, to be able to do the thousands of square nuts that I require for the 12th scale stuff I get up to.
          I use square section brass for the nuts, mainly 3/32 and drill to take a 12BA thread.
          Even have to make my own miniature coachbolts as well, had to devise a small ' Box Tool ' to fit a U3 lathe, to be able to make them by the dozens at a time.
          Once again, ---------------- 'KUDOS' to where it is required.

Could you please check your messages ---------------- :-)

Comment

Hi Mickeyf,
            Here's a link to the video I shot of the full sized machine.
            https://youtu.be/XPR19n_TwoQ

Comment

Great work I wish I had the patience to build something like that.