Machining Educational Recommendation

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Machining Educational Recommendation

Since I'm just beginning my machining hobby, I began to look for training and all of the schools that I found are too far away from where I reside. That's a major bummer!!! Would anyone have any recommendations for video training? Sure I can look videos up on YouTube but I'm wondering if there may be a video instructional series that someone could recommend? Any suggestions would be helpful. Thank you.

Go to work in a job shop for a while, you will quickly learn more then any number of youtube videos will teach you, also you will hate it and the entry level part time pay is awful.
    An entry level position will also not require that you own several thousand dollars worth of small measuring tools, you will have that going for you (-:

Comment

When I was starting to learn about machining there were few sources available. Even the local library had almost nothing except advanced subjects. I stumbled across the US Army training courses online. These are text based online learning courses. When 9/11 happened the army closed the access to the servers. They did this not to hide the material, but to tighten the network security.

Fortunately some folks had copies of the information. You can download them from here: http://opensourcemachine.org/us-army-courses . I'd start with the fundamentals, then move on to the "operation" sections.

MIT also had some good machining content. Search for "MIT training lathe" and you will see a couple of 45 minute training videos from them on YouTube.

Dan
      Last edited by danlb; 08-28-2020, 01:07 PM.
      At the end of the project, there is a profound difference between spare parts and left over parts.

Comment

Dan...Thanks. I'll take a look. I appreciate your guidance.

Comment