Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

From Live Steamer to workshop enthuiast.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• From Live Steamer to workshop enthuiast.

I have had workshops for nearly 60 years. The tools and the machines had one major purpose, to enable me to make or repair working model steam engines.
    However, I have begun to find that I am becomjng enthuiastic about the tools the machines and the workshop in general.
    Indeed, after owning and using a very worn Atlas horizontal mill for a year. i went out , bought a better one and, instead of simply vaguely cleaning it and putting it to use I find myself sanding off the horrible paint job and repainting before reassembling, something I have never done before to any machine I have owned.
    Can this new enthuiasm lead me down the path to becoming a machine tool reconditioner? Is this a curable obsession.? Do others chase the impossible dream of a shop full of perfect machines?
    Regards to all David Powell.

Originally posted by David Powell View Post
    Is this a curable obsession.?
    All your base are belong to us.

Resistance is futile.

Comment

impossible dream
      Key word being "impossible". Perceiving my own mortality, I am transitioning from becoming a perfectionist to a good-enoughtionist.
      "A machinist's (WHAP!) best friend (WHAP! WHAP!) is his hammer. (WHAP!)" - Fred Tanner, foreman, Lunenburg Foundry and Engineering machine shop, circa 1979

Comment

Personally, I would spend lots of time to recondition or modify, or add to, my own machines, but I wouldn't get involved in others machines. Do it for myself, enjoy the benefits of using the improved machine. You couldn't pay me enough ( or what it's worth) to fix up a machine that isn't mine. Don't get me wrong- I would help somebody fix theirs, but I'm persuing a hobby, not getting into rebuilding machinery. That's a job, and the fun would be gone in no time.