• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Thoughts what's it worth

https://m.facebook.com/marketplace/item/793846988027862

This could be my first lathe.
    Wanted all of your opinions

Snarky comment removed. Never been close to one do cant offer any advice.
    Last edited by Captain K; 10-04-2020, 04:23 PM.

Comment

It's not mine....it's not even in the same town.

I really need some knowledge on this. Some say Atlas Craftsman is cheap other say a great starter lathe.

Comment

I am still a newbie to lathe machining, but for about $700 might be a good entry project if it is not worn to scrap. Wouldn't think a Atlas/Craftsman would see any production type work. Might ask why no tooling included. Don't even see a tool holder for the lantern tool post.

Others with similar Atlas lathes might provide much better insights.

Warning: I am a hopeless machine nut. The only thing, -besides money- keeping me from buying tools and machine stuff is I've completely run out of space in my tiny garage shop.
        S E Michigan

Comment

That's not much of a lathe in my book. Remember, whatever you get you will probably be stuck with for a long time. I would save up money and get a 12 x 36 something with quick change gears and more tooling and features. That one doesn't have much to offer as a lathe.
          Kansas City area

Comment

I'd pass on that one at that price. If it was all tooled up with a 4 jaw, change gears, etc it still might be on the high side of price, but IMO as a bare lathe in that shape it's a hard pass. You'd do better to keep looking.

Comment

Originally posted by Dan Dubeau View Post
              I'd pass on that one at that price. If it was all tooled up with a 4 jaw, change gears, etc it still might be on the high side of price, but IMO as a bare lathe in that shape it's a hard pass. You'd do better to keep looking.
              +1