Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

New to me 1929 wide (heavy?) 9" long bed and overhead silent drive casting trade

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to me 1929 wide (heavy?) 9" long bed and overhead silent drive casting trade

hi all,

I came across this SB wide 9 project a while ago while helping a "new to lathe work" guy set up his Clausing and last week he offered it to me for what he had in it as he has to move.

Plus sides are it was a price I could afford (more or less) at $400, everything had been cleaned, it was a 55" bed and it will be a far more capable lathe than the unmentionable (begins with At and ends with 618) I've been using for the last 5 years or so.

Down sides are that everything has been cleaned but not reassembled, it has some wear near the headstock (enough to catch a nail, haven't measured it yet), it came only with a 3 jaw chuck (no outside jaws) and no drive system. It originally shipped with an overhead silent chain drive, but I only have the main casting and nothing else (no plate or countershaft). I'll be making my own horizontal drive using some pillow block bearings, 1/2" alu plate and some poly-v pulleys.

Here's the bed
    Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_9777.JPG
Views:	315
Size:	213.1 KB
ID:	1906796

Single tumbler gear box

Name:	IMG_9778.JPG
Views:	294
Size:	189.5 KB
ID:	1906797

Apron

Name:	IMG_9779.JPG
Views:	291
Size:	215.2 KB
ID:	1906798

Carriage, compound and a weird threaded but undrilled/ slotted face plate

Name:	IMG_9780.JPG
Views:	292
Size:	164.1 KB
ID:	1906799

Headstock and tailstock

Name:	IMG_9781.JPG
Views:	291
Size:	197.4 KB
ID:	1906800

and the overhead drive casting

I won't be able to start putting it back together in earnest until I've finished my current project (mountainbike fork damper rebuild) as I need to get the space back in my garage and free up my current lathe.