LeBlond Dual Drive versus Servo Shift

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• LeBlond Dual Drive versus Servo Shift

I'm new to metal lathes and have noticed two different lathes build by LeBlond. I read that the servo shift had many issues, but basically suffered from a poor design. I haven't read any criticism of Dual Drive, but I'm sure there are opinions available. Would like to get a voice of experience on these machines, ideally someone that has experience with both. How do these two drive systems compare, and what are the strengths and weaknesses, if both were available and all other aspects were equal, which one would you prefer thanks.

Dual Drive is belt for high range and gears for low ranges.
    Smooth and power. A real good idea.

Servo Shift is like a manual transmission with hydraulics
    that control the shifter. It most always messes up.
    Lucky you can delete the hydraulic stuff and just
    install shift levers.

http://lathes.co.uk/regal/page4.html

-Doozer
    Last edited by Doozer; 10-28-2020, 12:26 AM.
    DZER

Comment

Welcome to the forum. I have worked on both versions. The servo shift is not for the faint of heart, although a very good machine, it definitely requires more maintenance than a gear or belt drive machine, and parts are expensive if available.. Look for a lathe that you can repair based on your mechanical abilities, and something that you can use to make stuff. Jim

Comment