First time fly cutting

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First time fly cutting

I'm fly cutting the griddle top I posted about. So far it's been a fairly brutal operation. It's my first time fly cutting and this is the only fly cutter I have. The bit is a brazed carbide type and I'm feeding so it cuts below the rust as I've read about. Are there any obvious setup issues I'm in error doing? The chips are a huge issue as well and I'm going to make some sort of cardboard containment as they are getting thrown all over.
    Thanks for any input. Click image for larger version

Name:	PXL_20201113_175523517.jpg
Views:	792
Size:	3.21 MB
ID:	1910298 Click image for larger version

Name:	PXL_20201113_175554333.jpg
Views:	752
Size:	4.08 MB
ID:	1910299

Looks like zero rake and your toolbit is likely in front of center.

-D
    DZER

Comment

I would get a shell mill and chuck the flycutter in the bin.

Comment

Hi Challenger,

I too have only done fly cutting with the type of setup that you have , and only twice before. Let me say what I learned and what worked for me. The real machinists will correct me if I send you down the wrong path.

The tool looks like it is sticking out too much. Doozer said off center which I think is the same thing that I'm saying. I agree the chips hurt when they land on your hand, arm, or in the shirt collar, cardboard is what I've used and it does ok. The depth of cut might be too much for the hot rolled steel your working with. Have you got a angle grinder that you could put a 36-80 grit sanding disk on and get the mill scale off first? The feed rate was a factor when I did the cutting before on my projects, it needed to be slower than I thought to get a good finish and not damage the cutter which I also did 1 time.
        Maybe a couple of YouTubes on flycutting would be helpful.

Let us know how you come out.

TX
        Mr fixit for the family
        Chris