Casting polyurethane question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Casting polyurethane question

I'm looking for advice on how to cast polyurethane. Anyone do much of this?
    Thanks

Go to the SMOOTH ON youtube videos. All you need to know is there.

Comment

There is a TON of info on youtube about casting, moldmaking etc. Smooth on is a great resource of info as plunger said. Another great channel I just stumbled on is Robert Tolone https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCPA...ebL6RBW5-bnOrg . He primarily does toys and sculpture, but the techniques are the same whether you're casting toys, a tool, or in my case fishing lures.

Any specific questions? I'm still a complete beginner, but am nearing the end of my first bottle of resin so am pretty much an internet expert .

Comment

I've done a fair bit. Fun stuff! My secret trick was making molds from reusable tool dip, the stuff that's sometimes on new saw or router blades. For simple shapes it works great, and is much cheaper than silicone. Plus, if you screw up, or are done with a mold, just drop it back in the pot!

If you describe what you want to cast, more specific advice could be given.

Comment

Originally posted by gellfex View Post
          I've done a fair bit. Fun stuff! My secret trick was making molds from reusable tool dip, the stuff that's sometimes on new saw or router blades. For simple shapes it works great, and is much cheaper than silicone. Plus, if you screw up, or are done with a mold, just drop it back in the pot!

AH HA! Great tip, thanks I'm going to try it. I've played around far too much with silicone house caulk and various additives for small stuff. Alumilite has a reusable molding material i've been wanting to try, but I've got lots of tool dip laying around here and it sounds like a much better (as in cheaper) way for small stuff I only want to cast once or twice. Playing around with some on my desk right now I can see how it would be perfect.