1" Bore x 1" Stroke Vertical i.c. Engine

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1" Bore x 1" Stroke Vertical i.c. Engine

Hi Everyone---Hope your new year is going well, so far. I fell on the ice in my driveway just after Christmas and hurt my back. Between the pain from that, and my arthritis (which is exceptionally bad this year), I've had a very quiet January. Finally, today, out of boredom I sat down at my computer and started importing files from previous engines to see what would be involved in another i.c. engine. I have never built an engine before with a vertically split crank-case, so after looking at some really lovely examples on the forums, I've started putting things together on cad. I enjoy a quiet day designing, and this is what has turned up so far. Nothing really new or exciting here, but I like to see an engine coming together. I have no cnc here, just manual machinery, so that's what my engine will be based on, build-wise.---Brian
    Brian Rupnow
    Design engineer
    Barrie, Ontario, Canada

Brian- sorry to hear that you have not been feeling well. Hope you are on the mends.
    This design looks a little more sexy than past designs!
    One thing I would suggest when making the yellow base is making it in one piece. Drilling, reaming the critical axis, crank and cam first, then sawing the two halves apart.
    I'd do the bolts that hold the halves together too, in one set up.
    Then the non critical clearance interior volumes can be done after.
    This kind of guarantees alignment when your all done.

Sid

Comment

Thank you Sid. ---I am planning to do the critical bores with the two pieces pre-bolted together. Haven't quite got my head around it yet, but it is a work in progress. Much of what I put up today will probably change as the design progresses.---Brian
      Brian Rupnow
      Design engineer
      Barrie, Ontario, Canada

Comment