Measuring with spring calipers?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Measuring with spring calipers?

I'm new to machining and still learning about how the basic tools work and measurements are taken. I'm curious about "spring calipers". I read that spring calipers were used for precise measurements before micrometers. How do you get an accurate reading from a tool that doesn't have a scale built into it?

you take a measurement by feel in places not accessible with calipers or mikes and quantify the measurement with those.

Comment

There was a time when I was younger that I did not have the fancy gauges that I have now.
      I had to measure an inside bore for a bearing, something critical. All I had was internal spring
      divider calipers. Man it was difficult to get the same reading twice. Almost impossible.
      So I feel your pain and I understand the nature of your question.
      This "measure by feel" is not a reliable or repeatable method.
      In the real world where time and accuracy means money, 3 finger bore mikes are the go-to.
      Even telescoping gauges are touch and go, but better than internal spring divider calipers.
      3 finder bore mikes are expensive. At work I have used them, and you can measure bearing
      bores to the tenth of a thou. Like eating cake. A Dial bore gauge is nice too, but you need
      a repeatable way to set it. Micrometers work, but fiddly. They make setting fixtures, which
      make things a bit better.
      For stuff under 1", gauge pins are nice. I have a set from .010" to 1.000". Not practical for the
      beginner, but I guess I began a long time ago, so I have a set now.
      But "spring calipers" are a tough chicken to catch when trying to be accurate with them.
      No two ways about it.

-Doozer
      Last edited by Doozer; 02-10-2021, 10:15 AM.
      DZER

Comment