OT: Going solar power

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• OT: Going solar power

I have been procrastinating for a few years now about setting up some solar power. I have a fair amount of land but even so there was a couple trees, one huge one, that would shade me part of the day which is very undesirable. I had always planned a ground mounted array, its easier to access and easy to tilt seasonally for better output. I bought 8 panels a few years ago when a local wholesaler was getting out of the business but more recently decided to go bigger. A tree company is coming tomorrow to cut down that monster tree. I bought a skid of 20 panels, 270Watt and a inverter. The inverter is one of the reasons I am finally going forward with the project. Going with a grid tie setup involves a lot of red tape, even the mounting brackets have to be approved. The inverter I bought is a 5KW off grid Hybrid inverter. It is priority based, normal is solar panels first, then optional batteries and lastly draw any additional need from the grid. It never puts power back into the grid so it is not considered grid ties and that gets around all the red tape.