OT; Windows update KB890830

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• OT; Windows update KB890830

How would I prevent MRT from being installed?
    I uncheck the box in Update but the icon still shows, go back in and it's still there.
    Problem is, it will install anyway when I shutdown the computer.
    Click Start, Shutdown, there's the icon and it'll install then.
    anyway to prevent?
    Install then remove?
    Len

Gotta ask, what is MRT?

Sarge41

Comment

Originally posted by sarge41 View Post
      Gotta ask, what is MRT?

Sarge41
      "Malicious software Removal Tool."
      I use Malwarebyte so I see no reason to add Microsoft's offering.

Time was there'd be 10 people responding by now!
      Must be in Zoom meetings or something.
      Len

Comment

The rest of us were trying to find MRT when MS calls it MSRT. No need to reply if we can't contribute much.

Dan
        P.S. I was a professional Linux guy, so there's that too. I don't do Windows.
        At the end of the project, there is a profound difference between spare parts and left over parts.

Comment

You may not be able to uninstall it (every MS update will put it back in anyway) BUT maybe there's a way to simply disable it from running at startup. I'm not current enough to know, last time I used MS was when Win98 came out. Back then, you could edit autoexec.bat to select which programs were started at boot time.

Like Dan, I moved on to a much nicer thing. Nowadays using FreeBSD at home -- its a full-on UNIX server, although I don't offer any services the security on those machines is much, much better than any of the consumer outfits.
          Last edited by nickel-city-fab; 03-10-2021, 04:01 PM.
          25 miles north of Buffalo NY, USA

Comment

I saw this posted somewhere (maybe here?).
            "Set internet/network to 'metered connection', that way it will only download security fixes and not new features or useless fluff".