Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Home machine shop fire safety

Hello all,
    I'm looking to start a small machine shop in my basement, just for personal projects. (I'd like to eventually work my way up to making clock/watch parts.) I'm looking at getting a small Sherline lathe to start, and work primarily brass, aluminum, and non-stainless steel. What sort of fire risk is involved? Is this something that's not safe to do in my house? I have zero machining experience.

I would just watch out for oily rags and hot chips flying around, anything that causes sparks.

JL...........

Comment

Certain machines are a fire hazard, do not use such machines in your basement.

Comment

Originally posted by Bented View Post
        Certain machines are a fire hazard, do not use such machines in your basement.
        Can you give more detail? I'm looking at a Sherline 4410.

Comment

Originally posted by sphere1 View Post

Post # 2 has about got it covered --- also mount an extinguisher on or under your bench and your good to go,,, don't do anything too involved and then just leave the house immediately after --- it's just common sense stuff, like I don't use my cloths dryer when im away from home - only dry cloths when im home...

too clarify Joe's post --- oily rags do not take chips to ignite - they can do it all on their own so watch out for spontaneous combustion...
          Last edited by A.K. Boomer; 03-16-2021, 05:58 PM.

Comment

Originally posted by A.K. Boomer View Post

Post # 2 has about got it covered --- also mount an extinguisher on or under your bench and your good to go,,, don't do anything too involved and then just leave the house immediately after --- it's just common sense stuff, like I don't use my cloths dryer when im away from home - only dry cloths when im home...

too clarify Joe's post --- only rags do not take chips to ignite - they can do it all on their own so watch out for spontaneous combustion...