Red Loctite removal?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Red Loctite removal?

Evening all. I tried to buy myself a nice new toy by way of retail therapy. It's beautifully made .....but doesn't fit my mill spindle.
    https://www.edgetechnologyproducts.c...er-clamp-mount
    The clamping screw is less than 1mm too short to hit my spindle The thread is 1/4-20 and I actually have a die in that size - the only UN thread die I think I possess by happy coincidence. Shouldn't be too hard to make a longer thumb screw but it has an end cap to stop it marring the spindle. I asked Edge and they said that it's brass but held on with "red Loctite" and would need heat to remove. I've only got a micro torch (gas-powered soldering iron with the tip removed) so I'm not sure if I have the power to get it hot enough fast enough. I'm not opposed to buying a mapp torch if this is a good excuse but also don't want to go overkill when I have no experience. Also, the main body is anodised aluminium. Am I in any danger of damaging the coating if I just have at it with a torch? Or wrecking anything else by being generally inept? (Everything I touch seems to turn into a labyrinthine mess of complexity at the moment)

I could cut the screw and heat it separately if necessary. The endcap is also black (rather than brass coloured) so I'm it sure whether that would survive the heating too. I'll ask what it is in the meantime.

Thanks in advance guys.

I think the loctite web site will tell you what temperature you need for softening it. I have loosened some thread locking compounds with a heat gun - much lower temp than any flame, but I don't know what type or brand they were. If you have a heat gun I don't think you'd have anything to lose by trying it first.
    "A machinist's (WHAP!) best friend (WHAP! WHAP!) is his hammer. (WHAP!)" - Fred Tanner, foreman, Lunenburg Foundry and Engineering machine shop, circa 1979

Comment