Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 60 second mechanical timer

Hi,

I have been tasked to make a timer for learning disabled students. I need to create a timer that runs for 1 minute, (we ain't doing celestial timing here - hand grenade accuracy is all that is required), and will use a linear moving 3D printed "toy" to show the "time" passed. The biggest issue is cost. It must be cheap, yet sturdy enough to survive teachers and the occasional student.

I would prefer a windup 60 second mechanical timer because of simplicity of the rest of design and the ding! sound and auto stop at the end, but those seem to be difficult to find from my duckduckgo searches. 60 minute timers are a dime a dozen - 60 second timers, not so much.

A tiny battery powered DC motor might be the best I can do, but the added cost of a battery pack, limit switch, and buzzer might be more costly than desired. Plastic springs could be printed along with gears, but I have no experience with horology to do that kind of design work......

Any and all advice appreciated!
    If you think you understand what is going on, you haven't been paying attention.

I had a a old school timer used in developing film. I don't think I still have it.

Hal
    Last edited by Hal; 03-31-2021, 06:52 PM.

Comment

Not sure exactly what you're looking for here. Would something like what's pictured here (image borrowed from internet) modified so when the ball drops down to change direction a flag is tripped showing a number (amount of time) has passed? Maybe it could be expanded, or the ramp angle changed, so that it takes close to a minute to cycle. Or maybe a minute to drop a specific number of balls?

Click image for larger version  Name:	ball-drop.jpg Views:	51 Size:	76.1 KB ID:	1936805

Another option might be a small plastic hourglass. Those are available for cheap that measure one minute.
      Last edited by tom_d; 03-31-2021, 10:07 PM.

Comment

Does it have to be mechanical?