I Graduated

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I Graduated

With a BS in Mechanical Engineering. No retirement for me yet! :P I start my first full time job at a defense contractor in a little under two weeks. Wish me luck!
    21" Royersford Excelsior CamelBack Drillpress Restoration
    1943 Sidney 16x54 Lathe Restoration

Congrats! I know you are glad to have that process over and done with. Good luck with the new job.
    “I know lots of people who are educated far beyond their intelligence”

Lewis Grizzard

Comment

Well done! Engineering is great fun as long as you remain curious.

Comment

Give yourself a graduation present.
        An HBM, radial drill, turret lathe, and an upright drill
        sound like a good place to start giving.

-Doozer
        DZER

Comment

No need for luck. Most engineering jobs are massively over-specified and over hyped to get people in who actually have a brain cell. You were probably the only applicant who actually knew what a lathe was let alone had used one, not that it is important as defence work is all about the paperwork. I did 20 years in Defence work where 100 off over 3 years was a massive order then to commercial where 10,000 units a shift was a slow day.

Comment

May you be as happy in your career as I was in mine. I may have had some bosses or customers over 50 years that I didn't really care for but the job has been wonderful.---Brian
            Brian Rupnow
            Design engineer
            Barrie, Ontario, Canada

Comment

Good for you! Having the relavent papers and a practical understanding of how mechanical things work is such a big advantage. The toys at home will have to get by with a little less attention.

Comment

Originally posted by Dave C View Post
                Congrats! I know you are glad to have that process over and done with. Good luck with the new job.