o.t. programming help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• o.t. programming help

I have no programming experience at all, but I'm looking for a challenge.Can anyone out there give me some info on which programming language is easiest to learn i.e. c, c++ visual basic etc. Also any ideas on a good compiler would be greatly appreciated. Jim

Learn Java since all you need is the free SDK from sun and use the shareware version of textpad to write and build with. Java is almost the same as C++.

Comment

I suppose the 'easiest' program language to learn is Basic. I think Basic comes with your computer’s operating system (at least it used to) and is implemented thru an interpreter. This makes it easy to debug your program.

A note here: Before you get finished with programming you’ll probably have to learn every language out there. It never is a ‘one shot’ thing. The good news is that once you get a language like C or C++ under your belt, learning another language isn’t that hard and can be picked up rather quickly.

For a C++ complier, Borland offers a free one. Do a Google search to find a download.
      Last edited by Mike Burdick; 04-23-2006, 01:57 AM.

Comment

Bill's advice is good. To delve a little farther tho. What do you want to create?
        Jim, By the river enjoying life...

Comment

There's a good programming language out there for any thing you may want to do or application you might want to create. It just depends on how deep you want or need to get into your computer.
          What are your goals in learning to program?
          What kind of programs do you want to write?
          The C language will do everything you could just about dream of, but the learning curve is very steep.
          Other languages like Basic, Pascal (It's still around), Java and even DOS are much easier to learn, but are limited in their abilities to accomplish certain tasks.