Mill vise

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mill vise

I have $60 in Amazon gift cards that have been burning a hole in my pocket for a year.
    I want a 4 inch mill vise as sometimes my 6 inch Kurt is too clumsy for smaller work. Any experience with these? Ok? Junk? Yeah they're not a name brand but I'm hoping if I keep it lubed up the screw won't seize etc.
    I'm an occasional use hobbyist but I of course think caviar perfection on a hamburger budget.

https://www.amazon.com/Happybuy-Prec...%2C182&sr=8-10

https://www.amazon.com/Machine-Clamp...%2C182&sr=8-27

I have the Happy-Buy vice shown in your first post, and I am very pleased with it.
    Brian Rupnow
    Design engineer
    Barrie, Ontario, Canada

Comment

I'm not really understanding your problem with the Kurt. I have a 6" Kurt Clone and use it primarily for fairly small parts, like under 2" long. You just need the right variety of parallels, stops, etc. But it's nice to be able to square up 7 or 8" stock in the 6" vise.

Comment

I have the 5" version of what appears to be the identical vice, but from Busy Bee in Canada. I'm happy with it. Rather than hand cranking, I use a hex socket on a cordless drill if I have move the jaws a long way.
        "A machinist's (WHAP!) best friend (WHAP! WHAP!) is his hammer. (WHAP!)" - Fred Tanner, foreman, Lunenburg Foundry and Engineering machine shop, circa 1979

Comment

Depending how small you wanna go, I just picked up a 2" screwless vise for $50Cad from Amazon and it seems to be decent quality so far. I can hold parts in it, and mount it in my 8" vise and live is good.

https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I see the price just went back up though.. not as cheap as it was a week ago.

Comment

You should expect 1-2 thou out of square and parallel on all the surfaces. That’s about how good they are making them. That’s what I got with mine. A few hours on the surface grinder made it right.

Comment