WANTED - Benchmaster/Dura vertical mill

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• WANTED - Benchmaster/Dura vertical mill

I'm looking for a Banchmaster MV-1 or even a 2 in 1 MV-4 or 5. any condition! CASH

FYI; https://newhaven.craigslist.org/tls/...386203743.html
    Len

Comment

THAT is pretty expensive, for a partially restored small mill with no quill.

Keep eye on ball.
      Hashim Khan

Everything not impossible is compulsory

Comment

No quill means no spline chatter, right ? ?

-D
        DZER

Comment

Originally posted by Doozer View Post

-D
          Well, sure. But having used mills with no quill, the convenience factor is pretty low, as you are probably aware....... I have a Benchmaster myself. It has a heavy table, and I scraped mine into good alignment, so it is pretty chatter-free, as mills that size go. But one of the usual advantages of a vertical mill these days IS the quill, and what having that does for you.

I seriously question the price vs what you get as far as an actual machine. They are nice little mills, if in good shape. But they are not what I would consider into the low end of "Bridgeport territory". No idea what the story is with that one, but it was not "rebuilt".

I may be biased....I have $155 (and probably too much time) into a very similar machine with both the vertical and horizontal setups. It's nice, although the horizontal setup is sketchy compared to purpose built horizontal mills. I don't think it is "that" nice, even though I like it. I'm on the lookout for a reasonable head to put on it (with a quill, of course). The factory head, besides not having a quill, is also gargantuan, and really blocks your view of the work.

If it had the (quite rare) 36 inch table option, and power feed, I might think differently.
          Last edited by J Tiers; 09-30-2021, 08:14 PM.

Keep eye on ball.
          Hashim Khan

Comment

Originally posted by Doozer View Post

-D