Who here has something CNC?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Who here has something CNC?

What do you have and what do you do with it?

I'm mainly asking about, for want of a better phrase, "real" machines- that is, more of a "production" level machine than a shop conversion. I have and use both- a Centroid conversion of a Logan lathe, and an OmniTurn GT-75 gang-tooled turning center. Both were and are intended to make my short-run retail products, the same stuff I've been making for many years using purely manual machines.

I suppose the real question here is, does anyone do actual production in their shop, whether it's fifty parts or five thousand?

Doc.
    Doc's Machine. (Probably not what you expect.)

I have 2 Milltronics mills. One is an MB-11 with 24 x 12 x 20 XYZ travel and one is an MB-18 with 30 x 18 x 24 XYZ travel. They are both 2001 vintage with 3 HP R8 BP type heads. They both have Centurion 6 conversational control. I make production tooling and do maintenance and repair for other local shops, and make prototypes of new inventions for myself and others. There are some jobs I could do on a manual mill, but it's easier on these guys, and some jobs that just couldn't be done or would take forever without CNC. I bought them to do prototypes, so got the quill head with R8. That has worked out very well. So far in 20 years there hasn't been a job that the R8 tooling couldn't handle. These are bed mills, where the head travels in Z and the table is at a fixed height. This way is far better for my use than a knee mill would have been. I ran manual BPs for 25+ years at other shops (and every other kind of manual machine) before I went full time at home in 2006. Both mills still work as good as when they were new.