cranes

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• cranes

Getting on in years... I would like to add a hoist in my garage. Not looking at tons of capacity but one of the small electric rigs (200-400 lbs). My garage roof is supported by prefab trusses (2x4 construction). What sort of ideas are out there for mounting the hoist? In general, is the more joists I span the better the load distribution? If there is no easy answer, how would I do some relevant calculations? Evidently, I am not an engineer; I can fabricate wood or metal support structures but "what do I build?"

Get an engine hoist.

The 2 x 4 trusses are really not made to support point loads.

As I recall, those are usually a Fink or Howe truss. If so, and you really have to, then put a 2 x 10 across several, and locate it right at one of the diagonals/verticals joining the crossbar to the rafter.

But, really, just get an engine hoist.

Keep eye on ball.
    Hashim Khan

Everything not impossible is compulsory

Comment

Those 440 pound harbor Fright hoists work very well and at $90 they're an absolute bargain. For our occasional use they'll outlast us.
      *But, they move pretty fast so you have to use the snatch block .
      https://www.harborfreight.com/440-lb...rol-60346.html
      Attached Files

Comment

Find a used electric over hydraulic Hoyer patient lift. Working load 350-450lbs, so plenty strong enough and smaller in footprint that a Horrible Fright product. Check your local Craigslist.
        Buy American.

Comment

Originally posted by Dunc View Post